Not So Useful Digital Tools for Me

Learning how to text encode and HTML was probably the least important tool/method that I encountered in this course. Not only because I did not understand it as computer language and programing goes completely over my head, but also I do not think it will be useful for my MRP. I do not plan on encoding data into a computer or a website, the most digital thing that could be done directly with my MRP would be to put up a digital image of the James VI letter which is my MRP. Even after posting on the wiki every week, I still do not understand encoding and HTML, it just does not make sense in my brain and way of doing things. Instead of learning HTML myself I simply would copy and paste other peoples’ symbols for creating a new wiki post, which I know is an awful way to learn.

I also found that the programs devonthink and devonagent aren’t very beneficial to me at this stage in my MA because I don’t think I have a lot of data or files to organize or search through. This could also be because I haven’t consolidated my old files from my PC and the previous 5 years of my life together onto my MacBook. Maybe once I get into my research more and stop being a slacker or an “absent minded intellectual” they could be useful to me.

I feel like in terms of the Devon programs as well as dropbox, I simply do not have the information that needs to be organized (if that makes sense). Though, I do see how they are useful to people working on large scale projects or multiple projects.

I also did not like wordle because I have MindNode which I think for me is a much better program. MindNode allows me to enter fuller ideas, more words as I like to expand my ideas. Therefore I felt like Wordle limited my thinking and crazy idea process for papers or presentations.

Despite not all the digital tools being applicable to my own MRP or me finding them useful, I do understand how these can help simplify our research process and open our minds to new ways of thinking about how much the digital world can do for us, whether we’re all academics or not.

One thought on “Not So Useful Digital Tools for Me

  1. […] of public tagging. Ryan was concerned about the quality of public contributions. And in her blog, Stacey seems to doubt the benefits of public tagging.  We also spent some time discussing what it means […]

Leave a comment